Congratulations to the edX Prize 2019 Winners!

We are pleased to announce that Dartmouth College Professor Petra Bonfert-Taylor and Institut Mines-Télécom (IMT) Professor Rémi Sharrock have been named the winners of the 2019 edX Prize for Exceptional Contributions in Online Teaching and Learning! This is the first joint partner program to win the edX Prize.

The edX Prize is an annual award that celebrates the contributions and innovations of educators in the edX community, and amplifies the powerful role that online learning plays in the transformation of education today. The winners teach the C Programming with Linux Professional Certificate program, which has been running on edX since June 2018. Professional Certificate programs are a series of courses designed by industry leaders and top universities to build and enhance critical professional skills needed to succeed in today’s most in-demand fields.

The edX Prize recognizes teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to the open and online education community and who have taught courses and programs that continue to inspire and encourage edX learners everywhere. The jointly developed Professional Certificate in C Programming with Linux exemplifies the innovative spirit of the edX Prize — taking a truly collaborative approach to deliver a program that offers learners across the world access to career-relevant knowledge and skills in one of the fastest growing industries. 

Designed for learners who are interested in learning how to code, the program was created to deliver the knowledge and skills needed for learners to pursue successful careers in computer engineering or computer science. A challenge that both instructors had to solve was how to provide rich, formative feedback to learners in real time, at scale. By using two open source learning environments, the team was able to remove the most common barriers to beginner coders. 

This program is also the first-ever joint Professional Certificate program on the edX platform, offered by two partner institutions. The team brought together two highly esteemed but very different institutions from both sides of the Atlantic: Dartmouth, a private, American, liberal arts university, and IMT, a group of engineering and management graduate schools of the French Grandes Écoles. This required close collaboration on an individual faculty level, institutional level, and with edX, working collaboratively and remotely, across time zones for a year. 

Please join me in congratulating Professors Bonfert-Taylor and Sharrock. Their dedication to the edX mission to provide learners everywhere with access to high-quality and engaging learning is truly inspiring. Take a look at their program to start learning today. 

To learn more about the edX Prize, please visit the blog post we shared announcing the 10 finalists in August. Congratulations all of our incredible finalists, and thank you for your hard work and commitment to excellence in online teaching and learning. And stay tuned for information about the 2020 edX Prize